Posted by: Szigami | March 14, 2008

“Kokárda” – Cockade

15th March is the national holiday in Hungary. We celebrate the revolution of 1848 when the youth – poets, writers, students etc – fought for the freedom. They wore “kokárda” (cockade) on their coat. This is a pin made from ribbon colored after our national flag (red-white-green). The red colour is for power, the white is for faith, the green is for hope. Therefore we wear “kokárda” every year on 15 th March.

I saw a cross sitch “kokárda” on Ancsa’s blog. It hits my fancy very much. I decided I will stitch it for my daughters. Then it came in my mind that can try crochet “kokárda” after my crocheted flower with national color yarns. I have crocheted ribbon, too.

So, this is our crocheted “kokárda”:

p3131323.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

